Certification Areas

Several Texas teacher certification areas may be earned through the UT Dallas Teacher Development Center (TDC).

Certification Tests

All students seeking teacher certification in Texas must pass the following certification tests:

  • TExES (Texas Examinations of Educator Standards) Pedagogy and Professional Responsibilities (PPR) EC-12
  • TExES (Texas Examinations of Educator Standards) content specialization

TExES Review – Practice exams, workshops and videos for PPR and CORE Subjects preparation are also available to students.

Field Based Experience

Students in the teacher certification program are required to complete field based experiences.

Clinical Teaching/Student Teaching

Clinical Teaching/Student Teaching is the capstone course in the professional education sequence of the teacher education program.


Students who have already earned a bachelor’s or graduate degree and that have secured a contract as a first-year teacher are eligible to participate in a teaching internship.

UT Dallas Teacher Candidate Enrollment Calendar

UT Dallas has a rolling enrollment for students seeking their teacher certification. View the calendar (pdf).